e-visasAs per the initiative of the Government towards liberalization, simplification and rationalization of visa regime in India, the nomenclature of the existing ‘e-Tourist’ has been changed to e-Visa with three sub categories e-Tourist Visa, e-Business Visa and e-Medical Visa.



Following activities will be permitted under e-Visa:

e-Tourist Visa: Recreation, sightseeing, casual visit to meet friends or relatives and attending a short-term yoga programme.

e-Business Visa: All activities on conventional business visa

e-Medical Visa: Medical treatment including treatment under Indian system of medicine

A foreign national will also be permitted to club all these activities provided he/she had clearly indicated the same in the application form along with requisite documents.

The window for application under e-Visa stands increased from the existing 30 days to 120 days

Duration of stay in India under e-Visa has been increased from the existing 30 days to 60 days. In the case of e-Medical Visa, extension may be granted up to 6 months on case to case basis on merits of each case by the Foreigners Regional Registration Officer (FRRO)/Foreigners Registration Officer (FRO) concerned.

On e-Tourist visa and e-Business Visa, a foreign national will be permitted double entry as against single entry at present. In the case of those availing e-Medical Visa, triple entry will be permitted as against single entry at present.

         The e-Visa will be available at 24 airports including Delhi, Mumbai, Bangalore, Chennai, Goa, Kolkata, Cochin, Hyderabad, Ahmedabad, Trivandrum, Calicut, Lucknow, Amritsar, Trichy, Jaipur, Mangalore, Pune, Nagpur, Coimbatore, Gaya, Bagdogra, Guwahati, Varanasi and Chandigarh. Besides it will also be available at seaports including Mangalore, Cochin and Marmago. The new scheme comes into effect from 1st April, 2017.

Additional information